Emily's Engagement Story

The other day, I was Facebook stalking one of my lovely brides, Emily Fougerousse and I came across some awesome pictures of her proposal. I immediately texted her because I just knew this was going to be such a great story and I really wanted to share it with you all.

balloons

Emily’s Engagement Story

I had no idea when Taylor was going to ask me to marry him. He always said that everything was going to be a surprise, even my ring. One day during our Christmas break, we went skeet shooting with his sister and brother-in-law. We already had plans to go bowling that evening, so I wasn’t expecting anything to happen. After skeet shooting, we went out to eat for lunch. At this point, I still have no idea what’s coming for me!

Taylor takes me home after lunch. He tells me to be ready around 3:30pm, since his family had decided to go bowling earlier that night due to football bowl games coming on TV. Of course, it totally makes sense to me because his family is into sports like that. It wasn’t out of the ordinary to plan things around ball games. Taylor leaves and I take my time getting ready, still thinking about bowling and what I should wear.

As I finish up getting ready for our bowling night, Taylor calls me and tells me there’s been a change of plans. He tells me to walk out to my dad’s shop and  look in a toolbox for “something”. I get out there and look, and there was a piece of paper that said “Clue 1” on the front. After he heard that I got the paper, he said, “Okay! Read it, and I’ll see you later!” My heart is pounding out of my chest as I begin to read the first clue to what I knew was going to be an amazing journey.

Clue #1: Let’s say I had a dream, in which I took a very beautiful girl out for 31 flavors of ice cream. Actually, I think that was a part of our first date. Go there and find familiar faces that wait.

After reading the clue, I knew exactly where to go. I wasn’t sure how I was going to put myself together to actually drive myself somewhere at this point. I knew what was happening, but I knew I wanted to calm myself down and enjoy the hunt. So I head on to Baskin Robins where we had our first date. When I arrive, I spot our friends Taylor and Andrew waiting for me with the second clue.

Clue #2 was a 20-piece puzzle that I had to solve in order to read it. It didn’t take me very long, but I could tell I was shaking from excitement. Taylor and Andrew acted normal and said nothing about what was to come.

Clue #2: Sorry I didn’t buy you any ice cream, but I’ll make it up to you; as for now, it is on to stop two. Think back to where we spent a lot of our Thursday nights, where Bible studies taught us what is right. Have Taylor and Andrew drive you there, but a challenge (and maybe Steve Masters) awaits so beware!

Naturally, I hop into the car with Taylor and Andrew. They take me to the LSU Baptist Collegiate Ministry. Inside the BCM, our other two friend, Chelsea and Scott, were playing ping pong. I was challenged to a short game of ping pong in order to receive Clue #3. The third clue was written out on a ping pong paddle. How clever!

Clue #3: I know you could do it! But we’re not done so don’t sit. Where would you go if you wanted to get some exercise? The lakes?… No, but nice try. How about a place that you can see from that glass door, a place where you could watch the clock strike four. Walk on over there to see and hey maybe you can catch a frisbee!

After reading Clue #3, I start walking towards the LSU Parade Grounds. There, I found 2 of Taylor’s old roommates throwing a frisbee. Once again, I had a small challenge to receive my next clue. I had to throw the frisbee to both Michael and Will before getting my clue. After throwing, they handed me the frisbee. I flip it over to find the fourth and final clue.

Clue #4: You caught it! But enough horsing around we’ve got bowling to do! … Speaking of horses, the days you get to see a live tiger are few. But lucky you, there’s one just down the hill so hurry on down because there’s no more time to kill!

What a long walk this was! My anticipation of finding Taylor is growing and growing. I finally reach Mike the Tiger’s cage and find his sister and brother-in-law. They tell me to get in the car, so I do! At this point, no body has mentioned anything about an engagement, I guess because Taylor told them to be “cool” about it. We start heading towards downtown Baton Rouge. I have no idea where we’re going, but finally we turn into the new state capitol building parking lot. I had a feeling this was it, since there are such beautiful gardens in front of the building. Pulling up, I can see Taylor from a distance in the gardens. I jump out with all of my clues and start walking very quickly towards Taylor. We smile at each other from a distance. Once I get closer, I say, “I found you!”, and we laugh along with each other.

proposal

Next thing you know, Taylor says the sweetest words I’ve ever heard, goes down on one knee and asks me to marry him. I said YES with the biggest smile and tears rolling down my face! Truly cannot wait to marry the greatest, most encouraging man I know!

clues

Now, isn’t that just the cutest, story ever? Props to Taylor!!! 🙂

Thank you Emily for allowing me to be a part of your big day, I feel so blessed to have met you and your family and I can’t wait for your wedding day.

sitting

I can’t wait to share the details of this awesome June wedding!

Cheers!

 

One thought on “Emily's Engagement Story

  1. Emily Fougerousse

    Alyssa! This so great! I’m so thankful for you and your enthusiasm with getting this June wedding put together! You’ve been so, so helpful. Really wouldn’t know what to do without you! 🙂 See ya soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

